Council of National Representatives

Dr Lorraine Barnaby, Jamaica
Co-Chair

Email

Marco Sarcchiapone

Professor Maurizio Pompili, Italy
Co-Chair

Maurizio Pompili, M.D, Ph.D. is currently Professor of Suicidology and part of the Faculty of Medicine and Psychology of Sapienza University of Rome, Italy, where he received his M.D. degree, where he trained in Psychiatry (both summa cum laude) and where he has doctoral degree in Experimental and Clinical Neurosciences. He is the Director of the Suicide Prevention Center at Sant'Andrea Hospital in Rome. He is also part of the Community at McLean Hospital – Harvard Medical School, USA. He is the recipient of the American Association of Suicidology's 2008 Shneidman Award for “Outstanding early career contribution to suicidology."

Maurizio Pompili is part of IASP Task Force for Emergency Medicine and Suicidal Behavior and he has been Italian representative for IASP for several years. He is also member of the International Academy for Suicide Research and the American Association of Suicidology. Professor Pompili has provided validation studies of the Beck Hopelessness Scale, Reason for Living Inventory, TEMPS-A for the Italian population researching the interplay of factors that may precipitate suicide both in clinical and non-clinical samples.

Maurizio Pompili has published about 300 papers on suicide including original research articles, book chapters and editorials. He co-edited ten international books on suicide (including the latest Evidence-based practice in suicidology with Hogrefe & Huberr and Suicide in the words of suicidologists with Nova).

Maurizio Pompili is particularly active in collaborations the Italian Ministry of Health and Italian Health Institute for suicide prevention. He is the principal investigator for Italy for the START study directed by Prof. De Leo. He recently launched the Race for Live, a sporting event to support suicide prevention in the community.

Email


Council of National Representatives

 

Download the list of National Representatives in PDF format.

Country

Title

First Name

Last Name

Email

Years

Argentina

Dr

Ernesto Ruben

Paez

jentrenadoresdevida@imagine.com.ar

2013-2017

Australia

Prof

Jane

Pirkis

j.pirkis@unimelb.edu.au

2007-2015

Austria

Dr

Nestor

Kapusta

Nestor.kapusta@meduniwien.ac.at

2011-2015

Bangladesh

Prof.

Zahidul

Islam

sovajh@yahoo.com

2013-2017

Belgium

Prof.

Kees

Van Heeringen

cornelis.vanheeringen@ugent.be

2013-2017

Brazil

Prof.

Neury

Botega

botega@fcm.unicamp.br

2006-2015

Canada

Prof.

Brian

Mishara

mishara.brian@uqam.ca

2013-2017

China

Prof.

Michael

Phillips

phillipschina@yahoo.com

2009-2015

Columbia

Dr

Alexander

Pinzon-Amado

apinzon@uis.edu.co

2011-2015

Denmark

Dr

Annette

Erlangsen

aerlangs@jhsph.edu

2013-2017

Estonia

Prof.

Airi

Varnik

airiv@online.ee

2006-2015

Fiji

National Committee

On the Prevention

Of Suicides

simione.tuni@health.gov.fj

2007-2015

Finland

Prof.

Jouko

Lonnqvist

jouko.lonnqvist@thl.fi

2011-2015

France

TBC

2013-2017

Germany

Dr

Reinhard

Lindner

Reinhard.Lindner@albertinen.de

2013-2017

Ghana

Dr

Charity

Akotia

sakotia@libr.ug.edu.gh

2009-2015

Greece

Ms

Vassiliki

Siagri

vsiagri@yahoo.gr

2006-2015

Hong Kong

Dr

Paul

Wong

paulw@hku.hk

2011-2015

Hungary

Dr

Tamas

Zonda

zondat@tonline.hu

2006-2015

India

Prof.

R Sateesh

Babu

sateesh838@yahoo.com

2011-2015

Indonesia

Prof.

A.

Prayitno

prayitnotrisakti@yahoo.com

2006-2015

Iran

Dr

Seyed

Kazem Malakouti

malakoutik@gmail.com

2013-2017

Ireland

TBC

2013-2017

Israel

Prof.

Alan

Apter

asapter@gmail.com

2013-2017

Italy

Prof.

Maurizio

Pompili

maurizio.pompili@uniroma1.it

2007-2015

Jamaica

Dr

Loraine

Barnaby

lorainebarnaby@yahoo.com

2006-2015

Japan

Dr

Chiaki

Kawanishi

chiaki.kawanishi@gmail.com

2011-2015

Malaysia

Prof.

T

Maniam

tmaniam@yahoo.com

2001-2015

Mexico

Dr

Ana-Maria

Chavez Hernandez

anamachavez@hotmail.com

2009-2015

Nepal

Mr

Dhruba

Pathak

pathakdhruba@gmail.com

2013-2017

Netherlands

Dr

RFP

De Winter

r.dewinter@parnassia.nl

2011-2015

New Zealand

Prof.

Annette

Beautrais

louis.beautrais@gmail.com

2013-2017

Nicaragua

Mr

Arnoldo

Martinez

patrmartinez@hotmail.com

2009-2015

Norway

Dr

Erlend

Mork

erlend.mork@medisin.uio.no

2013-2017

Pakistan

Dr

Muhammad

Shahid

muhammad.shahid@aku.edu

2011-2015

French Polynesia

Dr

Stephane

Amadeo

amadeo@mail.pf

2013-2017

Portugal

Dr

Alexandre

Teixeira

alex33andre@hotmail.com

2013-2017

Qatar

Dr

Layachi

Anser

lanser@src-qa.org

2013-2017

Romania

Ms

Christian

Nica

cristian_a_nica@yahoo.com

2011-2015

Singapore

TBC

2013-2017

Slovenia

Dr

Saska

Roskar

saska.roskar@ivz-rs.si

2013-2017

South Africa

Dr

Willem

Hoffmann

hoffmannwa@tut.ac.za

2011-2015

Sri Lanka

Ms

Lakshmi

Ratnayeke

lakshmi.ratnayeke@gmail.com

2006-2015

Suriname

Prof.

Toby

Graafsma

tobigraafsma@sr.net

2013-2017

Sweden

Dr

Vladimir

Carli

vladimir.carli@ki.se

2013-2017

Switzerland

TBC

2013-2017

Taiwan

Dr

Ying-Yeh

Chen

dai73@tpech.gov.tw

2013-2017

Thailand

Dr

Prakarn

Thomyangkoon

karn249@hotmail.com

2005-2015

Uganda

Dr

James

Mughisha

jmmugi77@hotmail.com

2013-2017

UK

Prof.

Rory

O'Connor

ro2@stir.ac.uk

2011-2015

Ukraine

Prof.

Vsevolod

Rozanov

vsevolod.rozanov.53@gmail.com

2013-2017

Uruguay

Dr

Silvia M

Pelaez Remigio

spelaez@ultimorecurso.com.uy

2003-2015

USA

Dr

Dan

Reidenberg

dreidenberg@save.org

2013-2017