The International Association for Suicide Prevention is dedicated to preventing suicide and suicidal behaviour and to alleviating its effects. IASP leads the global role in suicide prevention by strategically developing an effective forum that is proactive in creating strong collaborative partnerships and promoting evidence-based action in order to reduce the incidence of suicide and suicidal behaviour.
The World Health Organisation (WHO) estimates more than 700,000 people die due to suicide each year and that almost 77% of all global suicides occur in low and middle-income countries (LMICs). For every suicide there are many more who attempt suicide or have serious suicidal ideation. Suicidal behaviour profoundly impacts families and communities and remains a universal challenge with millions impacted. The reduction of suicide mortality is of global importance and a vital public health consideration.
Special Interest Groups

meet our executive committee

Elected IASP Members

Meet our Co-Chairs of the National & Regional Representatives

The Council of National and Regional Representatives provides representation in over 60 countries.

See the full list of our National and Regional Representatives here.

Meet the Advisors to the Executive Committee

Appointed by the President, advisors bring their expertise and experience to IASP's governing knowledge base.

Special Advisor
International Advisor

For the International Advisory Council please click here.

IASP College of Presidents

Past Presidents of IASP

The College of Presidents provides mentorship to the Executive Committee and are available to represent the organization, provide advice and expertise, undertake investigations and reviews, and present recommendations and conclusions.


Years Presidents of IASP Country
2017 – 2020 Murad Khan Pakistan
2013 – 2017 Ella Arensman Ireland
2009 – 2013 Lanny Berman USA
2005 – 2009 Brian Mishara Canada
2003 – 2005 Lars Mehlum Norway
1999 – 2003 Diego De Leo Australia
1997 – 1999 Robert Goldney Australia
1995 – 1997 Jean-Pierre Soubrier France
1991 – 1995 David Lester USA
1989 – 1991 Nils Retterstøl Norway
1985 – 1989 Kalle Achté Finland
1979 – 1985 Walter Pöldinger Switerland
1973 – 1979 Norman Farberow USA
1971 – 1973 Erwin Stengel United Kingdom
1961 – 1971 Erwin Ringel Austria

IASP Central Administration Office

Meet The Team

Wendy Orchard

Executive Director

Katherine Thomson

Head of Marketing & Campaigns

Wendy Cliff

Head of Membership & Events

Caroline Daly

Research Officer & Early Career Group Co-Chair

Jackie Etches

Membership & Events Administrator

Lauren Betts

Communications & Campaigns Officer

Luigia D'Alessandro

EU Communications & Dissemination Officer

Maggie Hardiman

Research Officer

Mallika Chaulagain

Communications & Campaigns (Policy) Assistant

Seimon Williams

Operations Coordinator

Kezia Taufik

Membership & Events Assistant

Luke Bayliss

Research Assistant

Sangina Khudododova

Research Assistant

Verified by MonsterInsights